FDSStick (256M version) software question

Discuss hardware-related topics, such as development cartridges, CopyNES, PowerPak, EPROMs, or whatever.

Moderator: Moderators

Eicar

FDSStick (256M version) software question

Post by Eicar »

Hi,

I just got my FDSStick 256M version and it's working great so far. I've also used it to rip some disks using the drive adapter cable sold by http://www.tototek.com.
So, everything is fine... However, since I'm mainly using linux I'm wondering if there's some open-source software for the FDSStick? The only thing I could find was this repo: https://github.com/stevensmedia/FDSStick
However, that's not been updated for some time.. It also states in the readme that disk reading/writing on OSX and linux is not working.

I'm a software developer myself and I would very much want to contribute if it's possible. I already found some obvious issues with the code like missing flash id in spi_readFlashSize() for the 256M version etc....
However, I don't know if this code will ever work even if I try to fix it. I don't know if the FDSStick firmware is compatible with this code anymore.

I'm also thinking about using the FDSStick on a Raspberry PI to run the fds files right from the PI as you can do with the windows version of the software. However,
without any documentation on this it would take quite a bit of work to understand how the protocol works. I really don't feel like reversing the FDSStick protocol :)

-Eicar
loopy

Re: FDSStick (256M version) software question

Post by loopy »

That code on github is ancient, it's not compatible with the current firmware. I can put up something more current, it might take a few days though.
Eicar

Post by Eicar »

loopy wrote:That code on github is ancient, it's not compatible with the current firmware. I can put up something more current, it might take a few days though.
That would be absolutely amazing!! Can hardly wait!

-Eicar
MaarioS

Post by MaarioS »