blargg's test ROMs need updating?

Discuss emulation of the Nintendo Entertainment System and Famicom.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
85cocoa
Posts: 96
Joined: Sat Jul 22, 2006 12:06 pm
Location: USA

blargg's test ROMs need updating?

Post by 85cocoa »

Nestopia doesn't emulate the CMC'80s Demo correctly because of what Marty has determined to be a VBL power-up timing bug (link). As I stated in that thread, I couldn't seem to find a test by blargg that is specifically for this issue. Does blargg need to update his tests?
Warning: I am not a serious developer (yet), but CS and EE really interest me.
I was -_pentium5.1_- until I screwed up. This is why I screwed up. ^_^
mozz
Posts: 94
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 3:42 pm
Location: Montreal, canada

Post by mozz »

blargg doesn't NEED to do anything. If you want him to update his test, you should at least say please. 8)
mattmatteh
Posts: 345
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2005 3:40 pm
Location: near chicago

Post by mattmatteh »

his test pass on an nes, so they shouldnt be wrong.

perhaps blargg could mkae more test ? i am patiently waiting.

soon as i figure out how to remove the chips from a game a and burn an eprom, ill test it myself.

matt
User avatar
blargg
Posts: 3715
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2004 8:33 am
Location: Central Texas, USA
Contact:

Post by blargg »

motivation = benefit / cost
User avatar
85cocoa
Posts: 96
Joined: Sat Jul 22, 2006 12:06 pm
Location: USA

Post by 85cocoa »

Code: Select all

if ( apologyNeeded( ) )
{
    cout << "I'm sorry I didn't say please right from the start. I didn't";
    cout << " know this would be treated as a request.";
}
else
{
    brain_gpf( ); // :roll: Oops, smilies don't work inside a code tag
}
Well... my point is that I need some clarification on whether any of blargg's tests are specifically for "VBL power-up timing." I might have forgotten something when I was originally writing this thread. After that is answered, we can let this thread die.
Warning: I am not a serious developer (yet), but CS and EE really interest me.
I was -_pentium5.1_- until I screwed up. This is why I screwed up. ^_^
User avatar
blargg
Posts: 3715
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2004 8:33 am
Location: Central Texas, USA
Contact:

Post by blargg »

I think my tests never became conclusive enough on the issue. I wanted to determine all power-up behavior but it proved to be more complex than I was willing to probe. The most recent test code I have from October 2005 is commented with this: "The VBL flag ($2002 bit 7) is set at power-up and clear at reset. It is next set about 27384 clocks later." I probably posted about this in another thread last year when I was testing it.
User avatar
Zepper
Formerly Fx3
Posts: 3262
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 4:59 pm
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Post by Zepper »

I know Disch's "hack" about the VBlank flag on startup to get Cobra Triangle working. However, on my side, I *had* to keep the VBlank flag raised on power up. No annoyances on homebrew/test ROMs as far as I know.
User avatar
85cocoa
Posts: 96
Joined: Sat Jul 22, 2006 12:06 pm
Location: USA

Post by 85cocoa »

Oops, I should have realized that ! apologyNeeded( ) was pretty much a given... :wink:

I think some of you might be making this too complicated:
On the Nestopia forums, Marty wrote:The bug was simply a coding typo. To be specific, line 653 in NstPpu.cpp:
if (phase != &Ppu::WarmUp || stage < WARM_UP_FRAMES)
should really just be:
if (phase != &Ppu::WarmUp)
(link)
I haven't read the Nestopia source code, nor am I a NES technical expert.
Warning: I am not a serious developer (yet), but CS and EE really interest me.
I was -_pentium5.1_- until I screwed up. This is why I screwed up. ^_^
Post Reply