Trying to dump my first NES game... :)

Are you new to 6502, NES, or even programming in general? Post any of your questions here. Remember - the only dumb question is the question that remains unasked.

Moderator: Moderators

solidhyunkel
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 12:00 pm

Re: Trying to dump my first NES game... :)

Post by solidhyunkel »

Hmmm I may be doing something wrong. I put that line in a bat file and doesn't do anything, also tried tu run it in cmd and powershell, it gives fatal error as apparently cannot find something. The installation contains a default nes dump bat which I used with our command line.

Code: Select all

echo off
IF NOT EXIST output\ md output\
inlretro.exe -s scripts/inlretro2.lua -c NES -m multicart62 -x 2048 -y 1024 -d output/multicart.nes
pause
The result even when I run as administrator:

Image
lidnariq
Posts: 11432
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am

Re: Trying to dump my first NES game... :)

Post by lidnariq »

... "mapper62", not "multicart62". Right.
solidhyunkel
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 12:00 pm

Re: Trying to dump my first NES game... :)

Post by solidhyunkel »

mapper? it was declared as multicart. I don't get it. Sorry....

Code: Select all

 multicart62 = require "scripts.nes.multicart62",
lidnariq
Posts: 11432
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am

Re: Trying to dump my first NES game... :)

Post by lidnariq »

I was just looking at the screenshot which said
no file 'c:\Users\[you]\Downloads\INL-retro-progdump-master\INL-retro-progdump-master\host\scripts\nes\multicart62.lua'
so ... if it can't find it by that name, it either needs to be told to use the other name, or the file needs to be renamed.
solidhyunkel
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 12:00 pm

Re: Trying to dump my first NES game... :)

Post by solidhyunkel »

Oh right. I get it. it switched from mapper to multicart at some point. The script finally worked but the dump was bad. It improved because I tried 2 games, second one loaded (Elevator Action) but video is glitched.
lidnariq
Posts: 11432
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am

Re: Trying to dump my first NES game... :)

Post by lidnariq »

PM me the dump? I'm not clear how you'd get a partial dump unless it just so happens that that specific game is in the same 32K bank as the menu.
lidnariq
Posts: 11432
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am

Re: Trying to dump my first NES game... :)

Post by lidnariq »

Ok, easy thing first: I see I made a mistake in dumping PRG; if I'm going to read every 32KB, I need to write the correct bank number to match.

So change the line
dict.nes("NES_CPU_WR", 0x8000 + read_count * 256, 0) --32KB @ CPU $8000
so that it's 512 instead of 256.

Worse thing second: I see that the dumper is slow enough that it switches back to CHR bank 0 while trying to read each CHR bank, often not even receiving 1KB in time. Did you just lift the resistor? You're apparently going to have to short out the capacitor as well.
solidhyunkel
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 12:00 pm

Re: Trying to dump my first NES game... :)

Post by solidhyunkel »

Oh! I'll change the code and PM the output. And yes, I removed the resistor. I´ll remove the capacitor tomorrow first thing.
lidnariq
Posts: 11432
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am

Re: Trying to dump my first NES game... :)

Post by lidnariq »

Not remove the capacitor - you'll need to put a piece of wire in parallel with it, pulling that pin to +5V (which you labelled as "6" in your diagrams).

(You can remove the capacitor if it makes this easier)
solidhyunkel
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 12:00 pm

Re: Trying to dump my first NES game... :)

Post by solidhyunkel »

Forgot to mention that it takes longer to dump as compared to using the GUI, it may be because it didn't even read all the data because of the wrong mapper selection but it's only my uneducated guess.
solidhyunkel
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 12:00 pm

Re: Trying to dump my first NES game... :)

Post by solidhyunkel »

lidnariq wrote: Sat Jun 06, 2020 11:33 pm Not remove the capacitor - you'll need to put a piece of wire in parallel with it, pulling that pin to +5V (which you labelled as "6" in your diagrams).

(You can remove the capacitor if it makes this easier)
Oh! OK LOL! I understand. It's easier to use the wire.
lidnariq
Posts: 11432
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am

Re: Trying to dump my first NES game... :)

Post by lidnariq »

... and I made a second stupid mistake. Change the original
0x8000 + read_count * 256
to instead be
0x8000 + read_count * 512 + ((read_count & 32) << 1)

Graphical bugs won't get better until you've soldered the wire in.
solidhyunkel
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 12:00 pm

Re: Trying to dump my first NES game... :)

Post by solidhyunkel »

OK I made the correction and disabled the capacitor. The complete line should read like this. Right?

Code: Select all

dict.nes("NES_CPU_WR", 0x8000 + read_count * 512 + ((read_count & 32) << 1), 0)	--32KB @ CPU $8000
Aaaand... We may be very close to success! Almost everything seems to work just fine :D
https://imgur.com/gallery/Ecdfuww

Image

I'm completely sure the menu colors were purple like every other screenshot I have seen. Maybe something is off?
Image
lidnariq
Posts: 11432
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am

Re: Trying to dump my first NES game... :)

Post by lidnariq »

NES color rendition in those blue-to-purple colors is pretty variable from TV to TV. People have talked a lot about the color of the sky in super mario bros. It's also awfully unlikely as a single failure - you probably have a good dump.

For reference for everyone else:
PRG CRC32 8dae13b2 SHA1 cd36b113a0091666621c3248601ae5ca33d0605d
CHR CRC32 47abdc9f SHA1 289ae7628687dc4b370adee42f3a97034ce6ed2b ("LP-8007" and I assume also "W6-C")
first half PRG CRC32 ea40f62a SHA1 66e2b93212ab89e36e80a86f73574edbcfd045f7 ("LP-8005" and I assume also "NCN-38A")
second half PRG CRC32 834e9e6a SHA1 3397c610db478ce74b1a93053608a14fce2f5f68 ("LP-8006" and I assume also "NCN-38B")
solidhyunkel
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 12:00 pm

Re: Trying to dump my first NES game... :)

Post by solidhyunkel »

Oh I see. So in your opinion, our work here is done? Should I revert the changes to the cart already? Once again, thank you for all the help you gave me, and the patience too! This wouldn't have been achieved without you guys! especially @lidnariq :mrgreen:
Post Reply