Official NES Homebrew Seal of Quality

A place where you can keep others updated about your NES-related projects through screenshots, videos or information in general.

Moderator: Moderators

Goose2k

Official NES Homebrew Seal of Quality

Post by Goose2k »

I see a lot of homebrew games put on the "official NES seal of Quality" or create a little spin on it with their own company logo.

Has the idea of creating an "public domain" homebrew seal of quality every come up? Something generic that any one of us can grab an put on our games? Something that gives that nostalgia feel, but also communicates that this is actually a new game that runs on actual NES hardware.

Edit for clarity: The goal is not to indicate quality. It would not require approval to use.

Here's a super quick mock of the kind of thing I am thinking of (I am not an artist, or writer):
Attachments
homebrew_seal_of_quality.png
homebrew_seal_of_quality.png (43.56 KiB) Viewed 10774 times
Last edited by Goose2k on Sat Jun 27, 2020 8:57 am, edited 2 times in total.
lidnariq

Re: Official NES Homebrew Seal of Quality

Post by lidnariq »

I wouldn't use anything that visually close to the original seal. It's definitely trademark infringement, although N might not care.

At the very least, do something that makes it obviously parody, like RetroUSB having a cartoon seal(pinniped) in the middle.
tepples

Post by tepples »

I mentioned earlier that Tengen had its own seal resembling what would later be called the diamond-shaped flower emoji (U+1F4A0).

Photo of Tengen game sleeve on dkoldies

(Tengen became Time Warner Interactive and later merged with Midway to become what is now Warner Bros. Interactive Entertainment, or WB Games for short.)

But what would be the requirements to self-certify with the seal that the scene agrees on? Anything like what Plutiedev proposed for Genesis? (See previous discussion of Plutiedev guidelines.)
Goose2k

Post by Goose2k »