Nesmaker or 6502???!

Discuss technical or other issues relating to programming the Nintendo Entertainment System, Famicom, or compatible systems. See the NESdev wiki for more information.

Moderator: Moderators

kimjaco

Nesmaker or 6502???!

Post by kimjaco »

Hey guys :shock:
I have something I really can't wrap my head around...
Where shall I start, in my process of making a Nes game?!!! I have some conflicting thoughts which revolves around:

- It seems like a rough road to start from scratch. I have no experience what so ever from programing. I know about Nerdy knights tutorial. pluss some other tutorials on YT for instance.
This seems like the best way to go.. BUt,, ! It also seems to me like I have to use many years making small pong-like games before I can start making something that is something of what I have imagined that I want to make.. If this is the way, then I do have to go that road, BUt,,! I am also wondering about NESmaker. ... It seems like a fun way to start. Where I can start making progress from the getgo , BUT it also seems to me that it's quite restrickted... So, So these two ways of aproaching it, blend togheter .. Like if I start with the Nes maker for instance. Will the time I invest in learning that program , be transferable to 6502 assembling? Thanks for reading this, and I hope some of you guys can help me, on some pointers. :)
Kim JACO
yoeynsf

Re: Nesmaker or 6502???!

Post by yoeynsf »

I remember thinking the same thing when I was starting out!
I can only really speak for ASM since that's the route I decided to take, but over time I've kinda noticed some things about both that are probably good to note. Also, I think NESMaker does have it's own forums.... here, so it may be of interest to ask there too.
It also seems to me like I have to use many years making small pong-like games before I can start making something that is something of what I have imagined that I want to make..