House of Truth ROM and minimapper

A place where you can keep others updated about your NES-related projects through screenshots, videos or information in general.

Moderator: Moderators

domgetter

House of Truth ROM and minimapper

Post by domgetter »

So we whipped up 3 different ROMs and mappers for the PowerPak, N8, and N8 Pro so that you can view some 8x1 art on your own hardware.

We've tested on 2 NES front loaders, an NES top loader, Analogue NT, NT Mini Noir, AVS, Famicom, and Twin Famicom.

Here is the image that gets displayed:

Be sure to read the README in the zip you download to follow the instructions; they're a little different for each rom loader.

For those who don't know, this is a scene from an upcoming NES game Former Dawn that I'm a developer on.

Let me know how it looks!

In the worst case that it doesn't load properly, please let me know what console and which rom loader was used.
Attachments
HoT_SNS_powerpak_1_0_d.zip
PowerPak version
(41.02 KiB) Downloaded 96 times
HoT_SNS_n8_pro_1_0_c.zip
EverDrive N8 Pro version
(31.33 KiB) Downloaded 100 times
HoT_SNS_n8_1_0_b.zip
EverDrive N8 version
(31.73 KiB) Downloaded 98 times
domgetter

Re: House of Truth ROM and minimapper

Post by domgetter »

Here is the known compatibilities that I tested myself:

tokumaru

Post by tokumaru »

Cool! That image looks really good, right out of a Genesis game!

I probably won't be able to look at the ROM or mapper any time soon, so let me ask something: does the mapper handle the 8x1 attributes automatically or does it provide 8+ name tables that the program bank switches every scanline?
domgetter

Post by domgetter »

does the mapper handle the 8x1 attributes automatically or does it provide 8+ name tables that the program bank switches every scanline?
They're handled automatically by the mapper, just like MMC5.
calima

Post by calima »