Famicom AV/Power Board

Discuss hardware-related topics, such as development cartridges, CopyNES, PowerPak, EPROMs, or whatever.

Moderator: Moderators

HyldenKing

Famicom AV/Power Board

Post by HyldenKing »

Hello
I'm interested in making a Power/AV PCB for HVC 07 Famicom
I drew these schematics based on the HVC 05-06 diagram and Ben Boldt's AV mod posts

https://imgur.com/U2JDUvb.jpg

I'm a newbie to the electronics and can't say if this will work or not, so I have some questions:
1. Is everything correct?
2. Is it okay to add the power switch before the regulator?
3. Which caps would you change?
4. Is it better to solder a tantalum cap to PIN20-22 or add it to the board?
krzysiobal

Re: Famicom AV/Power Board

Post by krzysiobal »

This is the board I have made some time ago:
Image Image

It is both compatible with
* first revision famicom (with a big metal shielded dc/rf pcb, a'ka 5 pin), which has power switch on the 5V rail
* second revision (with a small dc/rf pcb a'ka 7pin), which has power swtch on 9V rail

(just connect JP1/JP2 differently according to the description)

It does not have the gretz's bridge, just a simple schottky diode placed on the DC input to protect against wrong polarisation.
Video amp is as in most of famiclones.

And the most important thing - there is a place to solder either
* mini jack A+V connector (this way you don't have to drill any holes in your shell)
or
* Audio RCA + Video RCA where originally two switches were placed (you need to enlarge those holes a little)
Attachments
eagle_sch+brd.zip
(45.37 KiB) Downloaded 180 times
aquasnake

Post by aquasnake »

It is recommended to set the power switch on the 5V power rail after 7805 output. And keep the video amplifier part powered forever, which is conducive to prevent the surge at the moment of switching and will not make the video output flash white