My SMB hack needs a chr swapping routine

Are you new to 6502, NES, or even programming in general? Post any of your questions here. Remember - the only dumb question is the question that remains unasked.

Moderator: Moderators

nesoldskool

My SMB hack needs a chr swapping routine

Post by nesoldskool »

Hello all. I'm glad I found this forum. I am fairly new to NES 6502 and creating games. I began making a Super Mario Bros. game and the folder I have for it (not sure where I got it, its been years. just now decided to learn more about ASM) but it was expanded to mmc3 not by me. With that, I learned to add SRAM and it works fine so i decided to create a SMB game. I have also just been messing with the rest of the disassembly and having fun seeing what is what. My 6502 is a bit limited but as I stated I just really got serious about all of this. I have been reading many documents on mmc3 and bank swapping and its pretty daunting to say the least.
Long story short, I was hoping someone could teach me how to expand the chr so as well as teach me how to write a routine so I can have animation in my game. animated coins, blocks and such. Again, this may be a big step given my 6502 is limited but a necessary one. I understand loading and storing and as well as branching. Sorry if I am being vague. I can supply all the asm files and to build my game as reference.
Any help is much appreciated.
tokumaru

Re: My SMB hack needs a chr swapping routine

Post by tokumaru »

The MMC3 has 6 CHR slots you can map banks to, but you can't switch banks whenever you want, since that could cause graphics to change halfway down the screen. To avoid this, you need to switch banks during vblank (or very shortly after it).