FamiCom CrossFire-an NES with two PPUs

Discuss hardware-related topics, such as development cartridges, CopyNES, PowerPak, EPROMs, or whatever.

Moderator: Moderators

Andy18650

FamiCom CrossFire-an NES with two PPUs

Post by Andy18650 »

I found this thread on the forum:
viewtopic.php?p=106130#p106130
It seems that the discussion about this topic ceased 9 years ago... But I'm bringing the idea back ;)
My background is in hardware, and I have designed several 8-bit computers. I was excited to learn about this hidden feature of the PPU and decided to do something about it. Here is what I propose:
A computer/console with FC/NES CPU and audio, and two PPUs linked via the EXT pins as graphics.
8KB of internal RAM instead of 2KB.
PPU registers not Mirrored from $2000-$3FFF, instead this area is used as an IO address space (maybe an extension bus can also be added)
Some internal ROM to offer some basic functionality (maybe BASIC itself!) when booted without a cartridge.
A YM2413 OPLL sound chip to enhance the sound capability a little bit.
A 6522 VIA chip to provide some additional IO as well as a timer interrupt.
A 'legacy' mode for FC compatibility (when enabled will hide all enhanced features and load cartridge game like a normal FC/NES, similar to the C64 mode of the Commodore 128)
Optional features include:
SD card interface (via bitbanging)
CF card interface (directly mapped to IO space)
RTC clock
Serial/Parallel port