On Securing NesDev's Forum/Wiki Future...

You can talk about almost anything that you want to on this board.

Moderator: Moderators

InZa

On Securing NesDev's Forum/Wiki Future...

Post by InZa »

Hi all,
I'm a Python programmer and one of my programming dreams is to some day create a console emulator. I have an interest in NES emulation but the entry-barrier seems impenetrable. So maybe one day...

I was recently having a discussion with a friend of mine and he was telling me that one of his biggest fears was if something happened to "NesDev". He told me there is a 10+ years wealth of knowledge on the forums, not to mention the wiki...

So on to the topic of this thread:

Have the NesDev website Admins backed up the forum/wiki? If so, how large is the forum backup? Could it be made available for download? This site is so valuable to the community that I hope there isn't a single point of failure....

===========================================
Basically, this website needs distributed hosting:
https://ipfs.io
https://github.com/ipfs/ipfs
===========================================

If a disaster were to happen in the area of the NesDev server that damaged the server then this would be traggic.

Secure NesDev's future!
JRoatch
Formerly 43110

Re: On Securing NesDev's Forum/Wiki Future...

Post by JRoatch »

Note: I'm not a part of the forum staff

Well we did recently go through year long scare for losing the forum outright. Scrapes, Backups, Sever and Admin team changes, all did occur. You might still see the scraping part of that whole affair at https://archive.nes.science/