ca65 Indirect Indexed labels

Are you new to 6502, NES, or even programming in general? Post any of your questions here. Remember - the only dumb question is the question that remains unasked.

Moderator: Moderators

Trozze

ca65 Indirect Indexed labels

Post by Trozze »

Hello, I am new to 6502 assembler and are working on a project for the FamicomBox.
I am using CA65 and I have gotten most of the things working, but there is one thing that I just cannot understand how to do...

Let us say I make a label "OBJECTLIST:" and the assembler puts the code to $8090.

If I later in the program wants to do Indirect Indexed to "OBJECTLIST", how do i get the high/low offset byte of "OBJECTLIST" so I can write it in RAM so I can modify the high-byte when needed?

Now I have to keep a record of the location and hard code it. I guess there is a simple solution to this. :?

Thanks! :lol:
Memblers
Site Admin

Re: ca65 Indirect Indexed labels

Post by Memblers »

For the low byte, LDA #<OBJECTLIST. For the high byte, LDA #>OBJECTLIST. So, using the > and < symbols
Trozze

Post by Trozze »

Thank you Memblers! :D How could i have missed that?! :| :shock:
This will help me alot with my FamicomBox BIOS development, much easier to move around the data now!
Fiskbit

Post by Fiskbit »

What are you doing with the FamicomBox? I've been making changes to the menu software, as well. Definitely interested in whatever people are doing with it.
Trozze

Post by Trozze »

Fiskbit wrote: Tue Aug 09, 2022 4:47 am What are you doing with the FamicomBox? I've been making changes to the menu software, as well. Definitely interested in whatever people are doing with it.
First I started disassemble the BIOS to understand how it worked. I am writing my own BIOS for the FamicomBox from scratch, thought it would be a great place to learn 6502 and the NES.

Last night I finally got it to check my internal checksum database and list the names of all cartridges inserted into the machine.