Probably stupid questions but I'm learning

Discuss technical or other issues relating to programming the Nintendo Entertainment System, Famicom, or compatible systems. See the NESdev wiki for more information.

Moderator: Moderators

DedGzus

Probably stupid questions but I'm learning

Post by DedGzus »

Just a few questions I'm gonna put out there while I'm learning. I'm just learning NES game coding so give me a break if I sound stupid. Also just getting used to 6502asm.

1. Is ANYTHING ever done in the main loop at the end of the Reset vector or is EVERYTHING always done in the NMI.
2. Is the NMI guaranteed to be called 60 times per second? (Assuming it has finished the previous NMI in time)
I'm sure I'll have more questions but I don't want to ask too many in a single post.
Fiskbit

Re: Probably stupid questions but I'm learning

Post by Fiskbit »

While there are games that do literally everything inside of NMI, that's probably not the norm and not really recommended. Generally you use the NMI for things that must happen during vblank (PPU-related tasks) and things that must happen at regular intervals (the sound engine, because when lag happens, the experience is much worse if the audio also lags). In this post, I include example code showing the NMI tasks and the main loop tasks. I encourage you to use a model similar to that.

As long as NMI is enabled, it occurs every vblank, regardless of whether the previous NMI has completed. There is an edge case where reading the PPU STATUS ($2002) register at just the wrong time (when the vblank flag is being set) can cause the NMI to be lost, because the PPU outputs an NMI when NMI is enabled and the vblank flag is true, and reading the register in this case clears the flag before this can even happen. There is also an edge case where toggling NMI enable during vblank while the vblank flag is true can cause multiple NMIs.
tepples

Post by tepples »