Modern Mapper Replacement Chips?

Discuss hardware-related topics, such as development cartridges, CopyNES, PowerPak, EPROMs, or whatever.

Moderator: Moderators

Mikey

Modern Mapper Replacement Chips?

Post by Mikey »

I'm wondering if there are any popular re-implementation of mapper chips, like MMC3 or MMC5 (or even MMC1) that are approachable for hobbyists.

I'm interested in solutions that use PLA, CPLD, MCU (or even discrete 74LS00 logic) to implement common mappers. (Ideally with through hole components, but that's not a hard requirement.)

I'm pretty new to NES development, but I'd like to build a game that works both in emulators and on original hardware; and the scanline interrupt in the MMC3 sounded neat -- the MMC5 seems a bit more powerful though, so I'm most interested in that (with the ability to do different palettes for every 8x8 tile, instead of being restricted to 2x2 attribute chunks).

Are there more powerful mappers that added more features to the NES than these? Do any of them have a way of overcoming the 8 sprites per scanline issue of the PPU? (I know there's hundreds of mappers, I'm guessing there aren't any that get around the 8 sprites per scanline issue -- mostly just wondering which ones have the best features and support; both in modern hardware implementations and software).

(Also curious how things like the "YOU ARE ERROR" cartridge is able to get such good audio out of an unmodded front loader if anyone knows.)
lidnariq

Re: Modern Mapper Replacement Chips?

Post by lidnariq »

In the distant past, MMC1, MMC3, VRC2, and VRC4 clones were made, all in DIP. However, we haven't seen the VRC2 or VRC4 clones in eons, and this New Old Stock of DIP MMC3 clones seem to have recently finally sold out.

You can still get New Old Stock of MMC1 DIP clones (e.g. https://www.etsy.com/listing/1238181548 ... cuit-board ).

Discrete logic mappers - and a few very simple ASIC mappers - can be made out of 74xxx parts.