Project NYDES - announcing a new FPGA emulator

Discuss emulation of the Nintendo Entertainment System and Famicom.

Moderator: Moderators

notyourdad

Project NYDES - announcing a new FPGA emulator

Post by notyourdad »

I'm excited to share a project I've been working on for nearly two years, an entirely new implementation of the NES built on a Xilinx Artix-7 FPGA. It's called Not Your Dad's Entertainment System (NYDES). It aims to be a cycle-accurate emulator. It reads directly from original NES controllers, so it has zero input lag. It generates video without a framebuffer, so it also has minimal video delay (maybe a few milliseconds). Finally, it is not constrained by an operating system, so it can never skip frames. This results in a system that feels like playing the real thing, but in 720p and without the random crashes from dusty, old carts. You can view the demo on YouTube.

By using all the awesome documentation produced by this community and by finding clarity in the forum discussions, I've been able to get the majority of NTSC games running on my prototype system. I've also been able to get it passing most tests.

At this point, the project is a prototype without a public code repository. I'd like to share what I've built for others to try, but I want to make it more accessible, i.e. to require minimal hardware and tools to set up. I am interested in producing a series of video lectures / coding sessions on building this system from scratch, including design alternatives for things like video, audio, and controller I/O, but I know such an endeavor will take months or years to produce. Please comment if you feel like you'd have some interest in this sort of content.